Talk:Stealth

From Hearthstone Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Finicky Cloakfield[edit source]

Finicky Cloakfield is missing here. 46.5.18.7 11:05, 17 January 2015 (UTC)

You fixed it correctly - good job. The system takes a while to update itself at times, so it may have appeared at the time that you had not. -- Taohinton (talk) 04:27, 19 January 2015 (UTC)

Capitalized 'Stealth'[edit source]

If we want to follow how Hearthstone writes this word, we should write it with a capital 'S'. If my assessment is correct, is it OK to fix any mentions of 'stealth' I stumble upon? -- Karol007 (talk) 12:26, 22 June 2015 (UTC)

Yep, and go ahead. It always feels like one of the weirder ones to me, but the game is very consistent in using a capital 'S', so that's how we should do it. That includes "Stealthed", etc. -- Taohinton (talk) 02:41, 25 June 2015 (UTC)
Yup, I've noticed that e.g. 'Frozen' was written with the capital 'F'. -- Karol007 (talk) 18:08, 25 June 2015 (UTC)
Again, this is correct. The first port of call is always card text (e.g., Ice Lance), although beware it's not always 100% consistent. -- Taohinton (talk) 22:28, 29 June 2015 (UTC)

Contradiction[edit source]

These two paragraphs directly contradict with each other. The former says stealth can still be broken when there is no damage event at all, while the latter says it can't.

- Minions that attack lose Stealth after the Combat Preparation Phase and just before any subsequent Death Phases/the actual combat itself, meaning that even if no Damage Event is created by attacking (such as by triggering Ice Block or if the minion is reduced to 0 Attack before the actual combat), the attack still breaks Stealth.[1] Conversely, if you have a Stealthed 0 Attack minion, and due to Clumsy it is attacked, it does not break Stealth because it does not create a Damage Event.[2] 
- Note that Damage Events for 0 damage (involving Divine Shield and Commanding Shout), while not allowing on-damage triggers to run, will break Stealth. Conversely, if there is no Damage Event at all (because of Immune, Ice Block or Bolf Ramshield), Stealth remains intact.[3]

--Moonrgr (talk) 11:01, 19 January 2017 (UTC)

No contradiction. The second paragraph says that if a damage event COULD have been made BUT is not, THAT is not sufficient grounds to break stealth. The first paragraph brings up a different way stealth can be broken. Basically, you can think of there as being two rules for breaking stealth - attacking breaks stealth at a certain time, and being the source of a successfully created damage event breaks stealth. --Patashu (talk) 22:30, 19 January 2017 (UTC)
The same spell Ice Block was literally mentioned twice in both paragraphs:
- The first paragraph says "if no Damage Event is created by attacking (such as by triggering Ice Block or if the minion is reduced to 0 Attack before the actual combat), the attack still breaks Stealth".
- The second says "if there is no Damage Event at all (because of Immune, Ice Block or Bolf Ramshield), Stealth remains intact".
I can see what you are saying though. However, the only edge where both what you said and what was in the article can coexist is when an hero with Ice Block makes an attack, which is then misdirected to a stealthed minion, and that would-be-lethal clash is prevented by Ice Block, which will be the only case where Ice Block will not break stealth.
That said, I don't know the truth behind it (I happened to see these two paragraphs while trying to learn about stealth myself). But I think either one of the paragraphs is wrong, or if the edge case I mentioned is indeed the only case where Ice Block will not break stealth, the second paragraph should be better phrased to reflect that.
--Moonrgr (talk) 04:47, 20 January 2017 (UTC)
I suggest you watch the videos linked as references in the Stealth page for these paragraphs: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhy9CTYuUnM https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0dSa0MiKEZU https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDojzLsRn4k The videos should speak for themselves. If they don't, read their descriptions. If you still have any questions after that, come back here and I'll answer them. --Patashu (talk) 11:12, 20 January 2017 (UTC)

References[edit source]