Talk:Recombobulator

From Hearthstone Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Friendly[edit source]

Recombobulator's card text reads friendly minion, but strategy part of the page currently talks about using it defensively to remove powerful/buffed minions by changing them into others. Someone with better knowledge of wiki formatting than me should edit to reflect this discrepancy, whether the card text was a typo or the previous editor had a misconception about viable targets. Example Given:

"Defensively, the Recombobulator can be useful for negating powerful minions. However, consider carefully the possible outcome before doing so, as it is always possible the minion will be replaced by something even more valuable. It can also be used to remove buffs like Blessing of Kings, or even in order to remove Taunt so you can attack the hero itself."

Earlier in the strategy, it also says "When transforming friendly targets" and if it is not possible to transform enemy targets, this would be a possibly redundancy that might confuse if left in. — Preceding unsigned comment added by 47.54.234.143 (talkcontribs) 14:15, 12 November 2014‎

Yes, that was my mistake, thanks for catching it ;) The card text is correct; I've removed the sections suggesting otherwise. -- Taohinton (talk) 20:11, 12 November 2014 (UTC)

Only collectible cards?[edit source]

Is there any source stating that Recombobulator can only turn minions into collectible ones? Doesn't its range include every minion of the same cost, regardless of whether you can collect it or not?--Adûnâi (talk) 09:17, 22 November 2014 (UTC)

Pretty much every effect like this only chooses collectible minions/weapons, due to the extreme power of certain uncollectibles; the developers prefer to keep uncollectibles off-limits so they're free to do crazy things with them ;) In this case that was confirmed further down the twitter from the ref, but I've added it separately anyway: [1]. I probably won't bother adding a ref for every single card like this though, since it seems to be a very consistent rule. -- Taohinton (talk) 14:53, 22 November 2014 (UTC)
Ah, thanks! That's exactly what I was wondering about.--Adûnâi (talk) 03:20, 23 November 2014 (UTC)

Bug?[edit source]

In the "Cobalt Guardian/Murloc Tidecaller Pre-Summon Reaction Bug" section of the Advanced Rulebook, additional notes read:

"There is a bug where using Recombobulator to transform a friendly minion into a Murloc causes Murloc Tidecallers to trigger, even though transformation does not, for any other purposes, count as a newly summoned minion. Using Recombobulator to transform a friendly minion into a Target Dummy also causes friendly Cobalt Guardians to trigger."

Is this bug confirmed? If so, it should mentioned in the Recombobulator page (and maybe also in those of Murloc Tidecaller and Cobalt Guardian); otherwise, it should be removed from the Advanced Rulebook page.

I can't check it by myself, but I didn't found it in the bug list page..

Elekim (talk) 08:09, 21 March 2016 (UTC)

I don't have an answer for you, but I would suggest posting questions about content in the Advanced rulebook article on that page's talk page. Of course, tagging someone like Patashu might be a more effective solution anyway. -- Taohinton (talk) 16:04, 21 March 2016 (UTC)