Talk:Fist of Jaraxxus

From Hearthstone Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Add a new tag?[edit source]

Is this card Discard-related? -- Karol007 (talk) 22:50, 7 August 2015 (UTC)

I have noticed that there is no Summon-related tag, despite quite a few Summon-related cards. I would venture to say that with only one Discard-related card, it's not necessary to tag it. I'd also be perfectly happy to see it tagged as long as we're consistent about it. - jerodast (talk) 00:47, 12 August 2015 (UTC)
I disagree, we definitely need to tag it. This ensures it shows up on Discard, and is totally standard with other effects and tags. Can you give examples of Summon-related effects? If they're there, they should be tagged and added, too. Philosophy-wise, the related cards are often actually more important to tag than the abilities themselves, since they're what provide the interesting synergies ;) -- Taohinton (talk) 15:28, 12 August 2015 (UTC)
Come now, I'm sure you can think of ONE summon-related (specifically, summon-triggered) card. It's only in about 95% of the Rulebook examples :P His name starts with K and rhymes with Life Smuggler... He's in good company: He shares his status with Cobalt Guardian, One-eyed Cheat, Starving Buzzard, Sword of Justice, Undertaker, Warsong Commander, Ship's Cannon, and Murloc Tidecaller. Arguably we could add Mirror Entity and Hobgoblin to the list, although they only come from playing a minion - another thing we don't tag for. - jerodast (talk) 04:54, 13 August 2015 (UTC)
I didn't say I couldn't think of an example, just that it wasn't my job to do :P Seriously though, I wasn't thinking of "triggered effects" *ahem* which activated from summoning, for historical reasons. It seems we're pretty much up to speed with those now though, so feel free to add the tags and listings. -- Taohinton (talk) 06:25, 14 August 2015 (UTC)

In-hand effect[edit source]

It occurred to me that since the discard only works once it's in the hand (not when discarding from the deck), it's almost an in-hand effect. Probably not close enough to tag it, but just thought I'd throw that out there. - jerodast (talk) 00:49, 12 August 2015 (UTC)

I considered this, but I'm happy to draw the distinction that all other in-hand effects can activate repeatedly and/or variably, while the card remains in the hand - the in-hand equivalent of a triggered effect. FoJ is more like a Deathrattle - it only triggers once, as it's being discarded.
As discussed, we could sub-categorise all of these effects in a multitude of ways, but I'm satisfied with the distinction. -- Taohinton (talk) 15:32, 12 August 2015 (UTC)